innoLAE 2019 Poster Prize Winners

This year innoLAE awarded two poster prizes, courtesy of the conference Gold Sponsors: NovaCentrix and Arm, as well as runners up prizes of vouchers from Cambridge University Press. Posters were judged by the programme committee based on their scientific excellence, academic and industrial impact as well as on the quality of the presentation.

innoLAE 2019 received a record response to the call for papers, which made our committee members’ task a challenging, and rewarding, one. The programme committee inspected 54 high quality posters, and announced the following awards.

The NovaCentrix Best Poster prize was awarded to Achala Satharasinghe & co-authors Dr Theodore Hughes-Riley & Prof. Tilak Dias from the Advanced Textiles Research Group at Nottingham Trent University. Read their abstract, ‘Solar energy harvesting fabric for wearable, mobile, and off-grid applications’, here.


 The Arm Best Poster prize was awarded to Tampere University of Technology Prof. Don Lupo, and his co-authors Dr Jari Keskinen and Dr Matti Mäntysalo at the Tampere University of Technology, and Jari Taavela, Hannes Sirén and Dr Juha Virtanen at Confidex Ltd in Finland. You can read the abstract for their, ‘Flexible temperature logger powered by solar cell and supercapacitor’ work, here.



Cambridge University Press awarded a runner-up poster prize to Universidade NOVA de Lisboa PhD student Emanuel Carlos for his poster entitled ‘Ultrafast photonic curing of solution-based aluminium oxide for thin film transistors’ - alongside co-authors Dr Rita Branquinho, Prof. Rodrigo Martins and Prof. Elvira Fortunato from CENIMAT, Universidade NOVA de Lisboa; Dr Spilios Dellis, Dr Nikolaos Kalfagiannis and Dr Demosthenes C. Koutsogeorgis from Nottingham Trent University and Dr Loukas Koutsokeras, Cyprus University of Technology. Read the poster abstract, here.


Cambridge University Press awarded a runner-up poster prize to Dr Suresh Garlapati and co-authors from the University of Manchester – Dr Sheida Faraji, Dr Daniel Tate, Dr Aiman Rahmanudin, Prof. Krishna Persaud and Prof. Michael Turner. Read their poster on ‘High performance, solution processed organic field-effect transistors to detect volatile organic compounds’, here.



Thank you to all 54 poster presenters for all you contributed towards the success and productivity of innoLAE 2019. You can find all poster abstracts, here.

Posted in innoLAE, News, Uncategorized and tagged .